Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

An Overview of the Massachusetts Melanie’s Law

Legislation known as “Melanie’s Law” was passed in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in 2005. This Massachusetts statute is intended to make penalties for operating under the influence of alcohol (OUI) more severe. The enactment of this law helped to usher in new and enhanced periods of license suspension or revocation and further established the Commonwealth’s Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program. Melanie’s Law is named for 13-year-old Melanie Powell, who was struck and killed by a

Read More »

ARC vs. GAL vs. Parenting Coordinator

Divorce, even in the most amicable situations, can be difficult for children. When divorce is not so amicable, and courts get involved, this can add to the stress of the situation. A courtroom environment can intimidate children old enough to understand the proceedings and overwhelm children too young to grasp exactly why they are there. Luckily, there are a variety of legally recognized advocates for children available in Massachusetts courts: a guardian ad litem, an

Read More »

COVID-19 – We Are Prepared And Ready To Help.

To Our Valued Clients: In this uncertain and strange time, we wanted to reach out to you and let you know that we are continuing to work diligently on our cases. In an effort to avoid the spread of the COVID-19 virus, we will not be holding in office appointments until further notice.  As many of you are aware, the Courts in the Commonwealth are temporarily closed for routine business and are trying to establish

Read More »

Wrongful Death Suit in Massachusetts

The heartbreak of a loved one’s death is compounded by the logistical and financial stresses of providing a burial according to the deceased’s wishes, paying off residual bills, and coping with the loss of an income. In cases where a loved one’s death was caused by another’s actions, this can be especially emotionally difficult—but the law does allow for a remedy to the financial stress caused by a wrongful death. In Massachusetts, a wrongful death

Read More »

“Hands Free” Law Headaches Already Beginning

As of February 23rd, 2020, Massachusetts has implemented the “hands-free” law. Penalty of violating this law is $100.00 for the first offense. While a $100.00 fine may seem like a minor consequence, you should be aware that this law can easily expose additional violations.   Picture this scenario: John Smith is driving on a suspended license. He believes that if he obeys all the other rules of the road, there’s no chance of getting caught.

Read More »

Common Questions About Criminal Defense

When it comes to criminal law, there is much confusion regarding how the system works. This article addresses some of the most commonly asked questions regarding criminal law. For specific questions, don’t hesitate to contact our law office for expert advice pertaining to your individual situation. What are the different roles of law enforcement? It’s essential to understand the different distinctions between law enforcement agencies as each has different powers and jurisdictions. All law enforcement

Read More »

Prenuptial Agreements: What They Are And Who Needs One

Prenuptial agreements might have a bad reputation from tabloid accounts of celebrity divorces, but these important legal arrangements are for more than the rich and famous. Nor are prenuptial agreements a statement that a couple plans to divorce or otherwise wants an exit strategy. When done right, a prenuptial agreement can help a couple take stock of their assets and set the stage for efficient and open communication about joint finances, thus strengthening the marriage.

Read More »

Sealing a juvenile criminal record in Massachusetts

People make mistakes—particularly young people. While a certain amount of risk-taking and boundary-testing is normal, even beneficial, teenage behavior, juveniles can be held responsible for their actions in a court of law if teenage hijinks turn criminal. However, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts recognizes both that young people make mistakes and that young people can reform themselves. When certain conditions are met, it is possible to seal a juvenile criminal record. By sealing a juvenile criminal

Read More »

Underinsured Coverage and Why You Need it

Typically, when you are involved in an accident caused by another driver, their auto insurance is responsible for covering your personal damages, such as: out of pocket medical expenses, lost wages, lost earning capacity, pain and suffering, etc.  However, many people carry only the minimum bodily injury coverage. In Massachusetts it’s $25,000 per person, and $50,000 per accident.  If you are involved in an accident where you are seriously injured and your medical expenses and

Read More »

What to do if you are injured in a car accident while using a rideshare app as a passenger

The sharing economy and start-ups have brought many new and wonderful services to consumers, but sometimes the law struggles to catch up to the innovations of technology. In the case of ridesharing platforms like Uber and Lyft, some cities and municipalities have struggled to impose regulations and taxes on individual drivers or the companies as a whole. Ensuring passenger safety through thorough background checks on potential drivers and swift penalties for those who take advantage

Read More »

Get A Case Evaluation

We are happy to provide a consultation to all first time clients.

Please complete the form below and we will contact you.

Email us
close slider

Get A Case Evaluation

We are happy to provide a consultation to all first time clients.

Please complete the form below and we will contact you.

Call Now
Directions